Day 3 or Day 5 Embryo transfer
6 Replies
suzie - September 3

Hi there,

This is my first time posting here but I'm so glad I found you. I have a few questions I was hoping you could answer for me.
A little history...
I have PCOS and my DH has a very low sperm count (I am 37 and he is 38) The nurse said in any given sample, my husband has about 50,000 sperm they can work with, ICSI was our only option.
I have done IVF before (8 years ago) and had twins boys. When I was trying that time, I had done IVF twice, the first time I got pregnant and m/c twins at about 7 1/2 weeks, the 2nd time I had my boys. Both times we did 3 day transfers and our egg quality with the boys was horrible, the were both c quality and had only split to 6 and 7 cells, we didn't think we would achieve a pregnancy and we did, they are perfect.

We are now trying again and had 1 failed IVF cycle, this time we had 4 embryos make it to the blasto stage and we put back 2 'A' quality embryos but with no success.

I'm worried about 2 things, #1 it took me 14 days to stimuate, does that have an inpact on implantation; is my uterus to far ahead? and #2 my doctor has me on strict bed rest for 4 days, he doesn't want me to shower or even sit up. When I had my boys, I was told to rest that day (after the transfer) and then I was back at work the next day. Is resting for 4 days a bad idea? I've read articles saying it's almost bad to be still for that long, blood flow to the uterus etc...

Now we are getting ready to start our next cycle and I'm wondering if it takes 14 to get mature folicles, should we consider a day 3 transfer or will day 5 be ok? AND..the best rest, 4 days? Can you help us?

Suzie

B. Jacobs, M. D. - September 4