6 fertilized eggs no cleavage!!
5 Replies
Miaferra - April 6

This is my first time writing on a forum but I felt that this will help us get our case out in the public and hopefully find support or a similar story. We have had two failed IVF cycles in two different clinics in two different countries. In both cases we had an amazing stimulation, great number of retrived eggs, six fertilized eggs but, unfortunately, in both cases the fertilized eggs did not divide at all. When it happened the first time almost two years ago I was completely shocked and devastated. The doctor could not explained the reason and we were left with more questions than answers. We waited 2 years for our next attempt and the new doctor assured us that the past cycle was probably a lab error because he could not see anything out of the ordinary with my blood work or my husband's analysis. We were very optimistic this 2nd time around and we thought that this time at least we will get some kind of cell division but to my surprise, the new doctor called with the same news: NO DIVISION!! This time I took the news much harder than the 1st time. Again, we are left without an explanation. Our doctor has said that he has not seen a case like this in his lifetime. He consulted with his group od colleagues and they all had the same answer. We have been trying to find a similar case on the internet but have not found anything. Right now the only thing the doctor is proposing is to go through another IVF cycle, this time try it with ICSI and fertilized 75% of my eggs with my husband's sperm and the other 25% with a donor sperm. This way we will know if the problem is the egg or the sperm. I feel this idea its almost like an experiment. I am looking now for a 2nd opinion and in our case it will be the 3rd clinic but for our own sake we need to find out what the problem is. My question now is, does anyone know of a similar case? 6 fertilized eggs no cleavage!!

HB_mommy02 - September 25